Thursday, 29 February, 2024

A Triumphant Return

20 players boarded the plane to Chennai, India on 26 January 2011 to compete in the 5th Commonwealth Taekwondo Kyorugi Championships and 3rd Commonwealth Taekwondo Poomsae Championships. They returned separately on 1 February 2011 and 2 February 2011 with a total medal haul of 5 gold, 3 silver and 4 bronze medals.

The medals came from the following.

–          Samuel Lee Wei Kang (Gold – Individual, Pair & Team)

–          Joyce Lim Soon Yi (Gold – Individual, Pair & Team)

–          Kang Rui Jie (Gold – Team / Silver – Individual)

–          Chelsea Ann Sim Shu Zhen (Gold – Team / Bronze – Individual)

–          Sherman Wee Li Sheng (Gold – Team)

–          Chiew Wenqi (Gold – Team)

–          Jason Tan Junwei (Silver – Male Under 58kg)

–          Jacqueline Quek Jie Lin (Silver – Female Under 73kg)

–          Chua Juan Juan (Bronze – Female Under 46kg)

–          Nurul Shafinas Bte Abdul Rahman (Bronze – Female Under 53kg)

–          Charlotte Tang Xue Ting (Bronze – Female Under 62kg)

Mr Milan Kwee, President of the Singapore Taekwondo Federation, who was at the championships as a VIP guest, witnessed the exploits of the players. He was visibly delighted with their efforts and enthusiasm to bring honors for Singapore.

He said: “Although some of the players could have done better, I am pleased that they had given their best not only in the competition but also in helping the organizers in the physical arrangements of the field of play. What’s more, they had also demonstrated tremendous sportsmanship.”

The kyorugi players would be leaving for Hongkong this weekend for the 15th Asian Cities Gold Cup Taekwondo Championships. The STF wishes them all the best in the championships.

Singapore Team

Coaches                   :           Tan Cheng Hui

                                           Wong Liang Ming

Players (Poomsae)               :                Samuel Lee Wei Kang

                                                            Sherman Wee Li Sheng

                                                            Kang Rui Jie

                                                            Joyce Lim Soon Yi

                                                            Chelsea Ann Sim Shu Zhen

                                                            Chiew Wenqi

Players (Kyorugi)                  :                Jason Tan Junwei

                                                            Daryl Tan Jia Jun

                                                            Jordan Tay Jun Jie

                                                            Christopher Lee Jia Zhe

                                                            Daniele Aidan Haadi Tan

                                                            Keith Ong Jin Cong

                                                            Muhammad Norhalim Bin Zahruddin

                                                            Chua Juan Juan

                                                            Nurul Shafinas Bte Abdul Rahman

                                                            Denise Thong Bai Hui

                                                            Charlotte Tang Xue Ting

                                                            Jacqueline Quek Jie Lin

                                                            Tio Jia Xin

                                                            Tessa Tang Xue Yi

Similar Articles