Thursday, 7 December, 2023

Another Successful School Championships

The National Inter-School Taekwondo Championships were successful completed on 23 April 2012 with participants from the various Junior Colleges shouting themselves hoarse with their respective college cheers.

It was probably an expression of their relief that all their hard work had paid handsome dividends – some getting more than others. Nevertheless, it was an excellent conclusion to any tournament as the mood could not be better.

While all the participating top colleges came with a sizeable team, Raffles Junior College had only three players. But they were not left out as the other colleges cheered for them. It gave everyone, especially the officials, very pleasant feelings.

Of course, in any competition, there would be some disappointments. But it was commendable that the participants and their coaches took it in their stride and chose to express the spirit of the competition instead.

The event which kicked off on 16 April 2012 at Toa Payoh Sports Hall saw primary school children competing for two days in the poomsae and kyorugi categories. The secondary students took over on 18 April 2012. They also did their best to keep their school flags flying high for two days in both types of competition.

After the scores were added up for the various divisions, the following emerged at the top of the list.

Primary Junior (Male)

1st   Temasek Primary School

2nd Anglo-Chinese Primary School

3rd   Anglo-Chinese School (Junior)

4th   Nan Hua Primary School

Primary Junior (Female)

1st   St Anthony’s Canossian Primary School
2nd Temasek Primary School

3rd   Poi Ching Primary School

4th   CHIJ (Toa Payoh)

Primary Senior (Male)

1st   Mayflower Primary School

2nd Temasek Primary School3rd   St. Anthony Primary School
4th   Naval Base Primary School

Primary Senior (Female)1st   St. Anthony’s Canossian Primary School
2nd Kranji Primary School
3rd   Methodist Girl’s School
4th   Innova Primary School

‘A’ Division (Male)

1st   Meridian Junior College

2nd Hwa Chong Institution

3rd   Temasek Junior College

4th   Jurong Junior College

‘A’ Division (Female)

1st   Jurong Junior College

2nd   Temasek Junior College

3rd   Victoria Junior College

4th   Hwa Chong Institution

‘B’ Division (Male)

1st   Springfield Secondary School

2nd   Maris Stella High School

3rd   Bowen Secondary School

4th   Mayflower Secondary School

‘B’ Division (Female)

1st   Temasek Junior College

2nd Springfield Secondary School

3rd   Pei Hua Secondary School

4th   Bowen Secondary School

‘C’ Division (Male)

1st   Sringfield Secondary School

2nd   Bowen Secondary School      

3rd   Maris Stella High School

4th   Pei Hua Secondary School

‘C’ Division (Female)

1st   Springfield Secondary School

2nd   Edgefield Secondary School

3rd   Raffles Girls’ Secondary School

4th   East Spring Secondary School

The Singapore Taekwondo Federation would like to put on record its appreciation to all principals, teachers, officials, referees and volunteers for their contributions to the success of the event.

The overall results are attached.

Similar Articles