Sunday, 25 February, 2024

Five-day of Exciting Competitions

The National Inter-School Taekwondo Championships staged from 11 to 15 April 2011 at Toa Payoh Sports Hall brought together more than 2,400 participants from 182 schools and junior colleges with one objective – to win honors for their schools and colleges in the sport.

All of them – medalists and non-medalists – succeeded in doing their alma maters proud with their outstanding performances and sportsmanship. They did their best and in the process making this year’s competition very keenly contested and at the same time bringing the standards to a higher level. Most importantly, they respected the decisions of the refereeing officials.

As in all competitions, not every participant could be medal winner.

When the last kick was delivered and the points added up, the following schools emerged tops in the various categories.

Junior (Male) : Temasek Primary School

Junior (Female) : Temasek Primary School

Senior (Male) : St Anthony Primary School

Senior (Female) : St Anthony’ Canossian

C Division (Male) : Bowen Secondary School

C Division (Female) : Springfield Secondary School

B Division (Male) : Springfield Secondary School

B Division (Female) : Springfield Secondary School

A Division (Male) : Hwa Chong Institution

A Division (Female) : Hwa Chong Institution

Four Special Awards were presented. They were

Most Improved Team : Cedar Girls’ School

Best Newcomer : Edgefield Secondary School

Best Fighting Spirit : Isabel Felipa Rivas (Methodist Girls’ Primary School)

Best Kyorugi Player : Kenneth Lim Teng Hwee (Pei Chun Public School)

Temasek Primary School and Springfield Secondary School continued to show their superiority in the sport. However, they should not rest on their laurels as Temasek had to watch St Anthony Primary and St Anthony’s Canossian while Springfield had to be better prepared for Bowen Secondary, Broadrick Secondary and Maris Stella High in next year’s competitions. Otherwise, an upset would be on the card as witnessed in the A Division tournament.

Temasek Junior College, the traditional powerhouse for the A Division, had to surrender to Hwa Chong Institution which came, competed and conquered both titles at stake.

The National Inter-School Taekwondo Championships promised to be more competitive next year.

The Singapore Taekwondo Federation would like to put on records its gratitude to CCAB officials (Mr Goh Ek Phiang, Mr Marvin Chan, Mr Hector Gomez and Mr Ivan Teo), school principals and teachers and all volunteers for their support which had resulted in the very successful and smoothly run championships.

Similar Articles