Wednesday, 24 July, 2024

Inter-JC: A Tournament To Remember

It was something to cheer about. And that was what the participants did at the end of the 1st National Inter-JC Poomsae Taekwondo Championships held on 13 May 2007 at Bedok Sports Hall. They cheered not only for their teams but also their ‘rival’ teams. It was indeed a sight to behold and an atmosphere to soak in as the participants had their moments.

The competition attracted 442 participants from 12 colleges. It was smoothly conducted. Most importantly, there was no protest. The teams should be commended for their outstanding display of sportsmanship.

If the tournament was any indication, the standard of poomsae performance had improved significantly. It also meant that the event was very competitive. In quite a number of categories, the top two were separated by only 0.01 point. There were a number of tie scores which had to be broken by the participants’ presentation points.

When the last prize was presented, it was clear that the top four contenders for the tournament Temasek J C, Victoria J C, Hwa Chong J C and Serangoon J C. The four colleges accounted for most of the top three places. Meridian J C and Pioneer J C are the colleges to watch in future competitions.

At the close of the event, Mr Milan Kwee, President of the STF, handed the tournament flag to the next host of the event, Temasek Junior College. Michelle Chua, Chairman of the college taekwondo club, received the flag on behalf of the college.

Said Ms Wong Liang Ming, STF Honorary Secretary: “All tournaments should go like the Inter-JC competition. The participants were like one big happy family enjoying a party. It was simply fantastic!”

The STF, the organizers of the inaugural event, would like to put on record its appreciation to the following for making the championships a resounding success.

  • Mr Ho Mun Wai (Director, Singapore Sports Council)
  • Dr Lee Chee Wee (CEO, Lynk Biotechnologies Pte Ltd)
  • Mr and Mrs Jack and Sally Hayes (Special Guests from Florida, USA)
  • Mr Steven Tan (Managing Director, Liang Seng Sports Equipment Pte Ltd)
  • Mr Louis Koh
  • All principals and teachers of participating colleges
  • Referees and Tournament Officials

Similar Articles